Building the Timber Frame Home Part 3–Floor System

Before the floor system went down, the ground inside the footer was leveled out with shovels, mattocks and hoes then rubber roofing salvaged from a building re-roof was put on the ground as a vapor barrier.

I was soooooo excited to finally get to the wood and nails and “house stuff”.  The barn was a really great place to store all the lumber I bought for the floor system, although the barn swallows were really making a mess of the plywood and lumber (yuk!)  The foundation was pretty square so I had  something good to work on (I needed all the help I could get).

PENTAX Image

The stringers and joists were nailed into place with a newly purchased Paslode air-powered framing hammer.   To keep all my tools organized I found a trailer in the weeds on the farm and the owner said I could have it, so a piece of plywood was attached to the frame for a floor , then I screwed my air compressor down, attached a tool box, and voila!  Work trailer.  Parked right next to the temporary pole, it made a handy work station.

PENTAX Image

 

PENTAX Image

My shoes were so muddy that I didn’t want to get that awful sticky clay all over the pretty clean plywood, so I was in my sock feet screwing down the plywood.

 

PENTAX Image

 

The first piece was, well, a real bear.  Kim was there helping and snapped a pic of the sigh of relief once the first one was down and square.

PENTAX Image PENTAX Image

Once the first one was down, the rest were pretty easy, relatively speaking.  Seems like everything was a lot harder to actually do than to watch other people do (that really knew what they were doing 🙂 )

Two coats of red exterior paint made the subfloor a little more weatherproof because I knew from past experience that the floor was going to be exposed to the elements for a while and also that I would be looking at the floor for a while after I moved in.  Red was my choice…….

PENTAX Image

One thing I did do that isn’t shown in any of the pics is to put a termite shield on the foundation underneath the pressure-treated sill plate.

Next up–the timbers!

Leave a comment