Delicious quiche recipe

The Happy Hens are really laying a lot of eggs now so I thought it was a great time to try a new quiche recipe.  The spinach hadn’t recovered from the last harvest sufficiently to include in the recipe, so I went to my favorite recipe site, Allrecipes.com and found this yummy recipe that will be made again.  I took it to my parents’ house and my Dad ate it for two meals and Mom wanted the recipe–it’s a keeper.

8 oz bacon, fried crisp and crumbled
9″ pie crust (popped out of the foil pan and into a glass pie plate)
2 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1 cup Monterey Jack (I used pepper jack) shredded
3 T all purpose flour
5 eggs, lightly beaten
1-1/2 cups half and half
1/2 cup diced onion
1-4 oz can diced green chiles

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Crumble the bacon bits onto the bottom of the pie crust.  Combine cheese and flour and stir to coat cheese with flour.  In a separate bowl mix eggs, half and half, onion, and chiles.  Add the cheese and stir well.  Pour into crust–it will be full–full-full.  I put the pie plate on a cookie sheet and a little ran over but not much.  Bake 60-70 minutes or until firm.  Mine was done in 45 minutes but my oven runs hot.

Let it stand for 10 minutes.  A slice of this and a salad is quite filling–it’s good for breakfast too!

Note:  If your husband/boyfriend/significant other won’t eat things they can’t pronounce, the other name for this recipe is “Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Pie”.

Leave a comment