Greens and Barley Salad

It’s amazing how many different flavors you can get from a bowl of greens.  During the winter there are assorted greens growing in the high tunnel and I’m always looking for different flavors to keep the greens interesting to the tastebuds.

The April issue of Better Homes and Gardens magazine had an interesting recipe that I tried yesterday.  The barley in the recipe is what really did the trick.

Greens and Barley Salad

4 cups assorted greens such as baby bok choy, endive, radicchio, and/or butter lettuce (Okay, I used spinach and baby Swiss chard–close enough :-))
1/2 head cauliflower, sliced into 1/2 inch slices
2 carrots, peeled and then sliced into ribbons with a peeler
1/2 cup cooked barley
1/4 cup lemon or lime juice (I used lime)
2 Tbsp honey
1 tsp paprika
1/8 tsp nutmeg (I didn’t have any of this)
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 handful of toasted walnuts (you have to burn the 1st batch then do the second one perfectly)

In a large bowl combine the vegetables and barley.  I sort of kept the barley together on one side and the veggies on the other so I could taste them separately.  I also had a few cherry tomatoes that were “on their last leg” so I threw them in the bowl as well.

Mix the lemon or lime joice, honey, and the paprika, nutmeg and cayenne in a jar with a screw-top lid.  Shake well then pour over the greens and top with walnuts.  YUM!  This is a keeper.

Leave a comment