Homemade doggie treats

My dogs aren’t what you would call picky eaters, but they do let me know when “something just ain’t right”.  They have trained me to give them a treat every morning as I go outside to begin work.  The treats stay in a wooden box just outside the front door and the dogs know that’s where they are kept!

A few months ago I was looking for a decent, healthy treat recipe for the dogs and I ran across one that had pumpkin and flax seed in it.  Supposedly, pumpkin is good for the dog’s digestive system and flax seed is healthy, plus they have eggs and whole wheat flour–almost good enough for humans, but not quite palatable in my opinion.  Since it’s a very, very, rainy day, I decided to make a batch and share the recipe:

Pumpkin Flaxseed Dog Biscuits

2 cups pumpkin (I use a whole can)
1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
3 eggs
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup flax seeds
3-1/2 cups each of plain flour and whole wheat flour

Preheat oven to 350.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.  Mix the wet ingredients together then add the dry.  This dough is VERY tough and hard to mix; I have one of those Kitchen Aid Stand Mixers that is very powerful and this dough bogs it down.  You might have to mix it by hand somewhat if you have a regular hand held mixer.

Roll out to 3/8″ thick and cut into dog biscuit size pieces; I use a pizza cutter and cut small ones for Lucy, the terrier and larger ones for Hattie, the Catahoula.  Place on baking sheets and bake for about 40 minutes.  This recipe makes a good sized batch and the dogs seem to really like them.

Leave a comment