I’ve got pears!

Several years ago I planted an orchard, then the next year I moved it.  Yes, dug it up and moved it–not a recommended operation; I just didn’t like where it was to start with.  The first orchard was 3 apple, 3 pear and 3 peach trees and I’ve since added 2 more yellow apples, 3 Honey Crisp Apples, and 3 Manchurian Apricot trees.  There were about 8 peaches on one tree this year, and one Honey Crisp apple that fell off.

While mowing in the orchard a couple of days ago (maneuvering the half mile long conglomeration of tractor, pull-behind mower and front loader with bucket) the bucket on the tractor hit one of the branches of a pear tree and two pears fell off.  I had been watching them for a few days and even tugged on them to see if they were ready.  I didn’t think they were, because they didn’t just come off really easily.

pearsonmytreeweb

I climbed off the tractor to pick them up……oh my…..

yummypear

juice was running down my arm!  I stopped what I was doing, picked the rest of the pears and put them in the crisper in the fridge for later.

Yum!

Leave a comment