Where do you fit in?

Over the past several years I’ve fed my passion for self-sufficiency by reading lots and lots of how-to, gardening, self-sufficiency, organic, and permaculture books.  Supplementing the bookreading with great videos on YouTube, magazine subscriptions, and workshops when available.

A question came up recently and I’m sorry I don’t remember exactly where I saw it, but the question still burns in my mind:  “Are you a part of the problem or the solution?”  I asked my oldest son that question and of course he said “what’s the problem?”   I responded “When asked that sort of question, what would you think the problem is?”  He started thinking…..and he actually came up with the correct question.

I challenge you to ask yourself this question during your daily routine….when you throw away a perfectly recyclable aluminum can or glass bottle rather than recycling it, are you part of the problem or the solution?  When you run your clothes washer and/or dryer and/or dishwasher with just a few items in it are you part of the problem or the solution?

I know everyone has their opinions about global warming, but as a farmer I live right in the weather and work with the seasons and each year it becomes more challenging.  I call it “global weirding” and am really ashamed at the mess my generation and the generations before me are leaving this planet for our kids and grandkids.  I don’t know for sure, but I’d say that sucking all the oil out of the earth is like disabling part of our cooling system, as well as paving the surface so it can’t breathe–

One person can change the world, but only if they practice what they preach and teach others to do the same.  It’s an overwhelming job, but lots of somebodies have got to do it.

So, are you part of the problem or the solution?

Leave a comment