Winemaking and Rainbows

This is about Week 6 of my winemaking adventure.  So far I’ve got Pear Wine which was the first batch started, Blackberry, Strawberry, Raspberry Jam, and today a batch of Muscadine was mixed in the fermenting crock.  Everything seems to be going okay so far…….(the taste test will tell in the end).

winemaking110213web

 

The big carboy is the pear wine and the others are in gallon jugs.  Sometimes there is too much “must” to fit into a gallon jug so that’s where the smaller bottles with balloons on them come into use.  I’ve changed the name of my dining room to the “wining room” because that’s where all the jugs are parked for fermenting….right beside the dining room table covered with beans and such that need to be shelled for saving and storage…

seedsavingtableweb

 

I picked up a quart of pure Muscadine juice at the grocery store the other day so I’ve got that brewing in the fermenting crock in the pantry where the freezer keeps the temp just a little warmer than the house if I leave the door closed.  My favorite “store bought” wine has to be the award-winning Stonehaus Winery Muscadine–just up the road in Crossville.

Now for the rainbow…..this fall has been great weather-wise; mild temps, bright sunshiny days….but the leaves just sort of turned color really quick then fell off.  The peak of color seemed to be yesterday, but only when the sun shined brightly.

A cold front moved through today which caused things like some wind, lots of clouds blowing around, and bright sunshine and rain at the same time, in the late afternoon.  You know, the perfect setup for a rainbow

rainbow110213web

 

I didn’t notice while I was taking the picture, but it almost looks like there are two rainbows there, doesn’t it?

Leave a comment