Vanilla Bean Oil

Soapmaking is one of my favorite hobby/income things to do.  I’ve been making soap for about 22 years now and haven’t bought a bar of storebought soap since making my first bar.

Patchouli is really my all time favorite scent and I use that “flavor” soap almost exclusively.  Vanilla runs a close race with patchouli in the aroma category, but commercially available vanilla extract just doesn’t work in soap recipes.

While on a recent trip to Florida,  I found organic vanilla beans from Madagascar.  At that moment I realized I could make my own vanilla infused oil to use in soap-making.  I purchased a package of two and stuffed them in my bag–ooooh, that smell!

I took 8 ounces of Sweet Almond Oil and put it in a small jar.   I then split one of the beans in half lengthwise and scraped out the seeds and goop from the middle.  Then the rest of the bean was stuffed in the jar as well.  A tight lid and label was added.

vanillabeans


I then took 8 ounces of Jojoba Oil and repeated the procedure.  These are on the kitchen counter right next to the sink so I can shake them quite often to keep the vanilla mixed with the oil.

Hopefully, in about a month, I’ll be able to experiment with this oil and a new scent for my line of all vegetable body soaps!

vanillabeansinoil

 

Leave a comment