How to repair the door switch on a front-loading washing machine

They say that necessity is the mother of invention, you never know what you can do until you try, yadda, yadda, yadda.

Money makes people do strange things.  The lack of money makes people do strange things.  My washer had been messing up for a few weeks and one day, when the clothes were all soppy wet, it decided to quit.  Yuk.

After hand wringing all the clothes out and hanging them outside to drip dry, I got out the owner’s manual and started reading.  Looks like my Frigidaire Affinity washer model has a neat technician-friendly feature–when the pause and start buttons are pushed at the same time a code will come up.  The code that came up for my machine was a door lock malfunction, which is a common issue with these washers.   After researching the purchase of the lock, I ordered it and then watched a couple of videos on YouTube  (I LOVE YouTube!)  When the switch came in, I replaced it, hooked everything back up and pushed “start”.  A squirt of water came out then quit.  Again….open door, shut door, push start, squirt of water, quit.

Help!  Gooooogle!  I LOVE Google too!

“If machine doesn’t start, check all the wiring”–OMG–I hate wiring 😦

I had to remove the top of the washer to get to the back panel of the washer.  After removing what seemed like hundreds of screws from the back panel and attempting to remove the back panel, I realized that the back panel was riveted to the side panels of the washer.

Well duh, they could have saved probably a dollar on all those unnecessary screws.

Anyway, in the very bottom of the corner of the washer was a little plug on the end of a wire harness that had slipped off the connection–

I put it back on, HOPING that’s what it was.  I put everything back together, shoved the washer back into place, shut the door, pushed start, and VOILA!  It worked.

FullSizeRender

Miracles are great and Google is too.

That also made me realize just how easy it would be for people to get taken advantage of by dishonest repairmen–the part that the connection had come off of cost over $300.  I was able to do the repair for $63.  All it takes is being crazy enough to try it–and a few tools.

 

Leave a comment