Day trip to Red Boiling Springs

This time of year isn’t conducive to any sort of excursions.  The myriad of tasks on the farm keeps me tethered pretty close.

Several weeks ago, while cruising the net, I came across an event to be held on June 6, in Red Boiling Springs Tennessee.  It was called the “Folk Medicine Festival” and sounded like something I’d use for a small entertainment/educational opportunity.  I made the trek to RBS last year to attend the barefoot wedding of my youngest son and his bride, at the Barefoot Farmer’s Long Hungry Creek Farm in Red Boiling Springs.  Two of my sisters accompanied me and it seems like we were lost as soon as we turned off the Interstate and twisted our way northward “over the river and through the woods and across mountains…..”

I was determined to go a more direct route this time, so I carefully planned out the route on Google maps.  I was excited to be taking a day off my routine of bending over and crawling around on the ground, but the exuberance quickly chilled as soon as I turned off I-40 and signs said “detour” and directed me in a big circle through Monterey and right back out onto the interstate…..drat!

I finally made it to the speakers hall, only 10 minutes late, to hear Jeff Poppen, the Barefoot Farmer, speak on sustainable gardening.  He mostly fielded questions from the audience, but was a good speaker and I did learn a thing or two–that’s what it’s all about, huh?

He then offered a tour of his farm so about 20  of us followed him out to the farm and toured several gardens.  I thought I had a lot of garlic–160′ row feet; his garlic patch is the size of one of my large gardens!  He has help though, and Nashville is his market.  He explained how he gardens organically and sustainably; totally different than I do, but it works.

IMG_0506.JPG

I’m sure it’s nice to be able to walk around without shoes, staying “grounded” to the earth, but there are way too many tiny critters around here that chew on bare flesh–I go for socks, boots, pants, and sleeves.  Oh, and I keep the ground covered with leaves as well.  Bare soil and bare skin makes me nervous…….

Back at the festival, Ila Hatter was the next speaker.  I heard her years ago speaking on edible wild plants and wanted to hear her again.  She’s very entertaining and very knowledgable and I picked up a few tips from her as well.

Resisting the urge to eat a large plate of fried food, I opted for a bowl of pinto beans with a piece of cornbread.  A few onions and sweet relish made it a wonderful, healthy  lunch.

I didn’t get lost on the way home, but figure that there has got to be a better way to get there from Crab Orchard; I just haven’t figured it out yet!

Leave a comment